2014 OSGi IoT Demo

At the OSGi Community Event 2014, the OSGi Alliance invited you to visit our OSGi IoT stand in the Eclipse IoT playground where we showed a demo of a wind farm using Raspberry Pi’s and an OSGi Cloud plus OSGi based SaaS. People who brought along their Raspberry Pi (B or B+) to the stand had the opportunity to join the demo and turn their Raspberry Pi’s into a ‘virtual’ windmill.

We hosted an OSGi extended session to explore this demo and launch a hackathon competition. Attendees participated in the OSGi IoT demo, using a Raspberry Pi. Each of them received a microSD card and adapter, kindly contributed by the SD Association (along with SanDisk and Cardwave).

The microSD card included the bootstrap software for each attendee to participate in the demo. After becoming an OSGi-enabled device the Raspberry Pi discovered the OSGi based cloud platform, Paremus Service Fabric, where ProSyst mPRM and a MQTT server were running. A Bitreactive wind farm application was dynamically installed on the OSGi enabled Raspberry Pi from the mPRM in the Cloud. Once installed the Raspberry Pi automatically joined our ‘virtual’ wind farm demo using MQTT.

Having seen the wind farm demo the attendees were given the opportunity to take part in a hackathon to develop new applications to be submitted by close of play the next day. There was great competition between attendees to develop the best application and win a brand-new devolo Home Control starter kit. The winner of the hackathon was Tobiasz Dworak, system and software architect at the Research & Engineering Center Sp.z o.o.

The OSGi IoT demo will be reused and extended for future events to include other products and additional applications. Please send us an email if you would like to get involved.

Current OSGi IoT Demo contributors:

  • bitreactive
  • Cardwave
  • Paremus
  • ProSyst
  • SanDisk
  • SD Association

2014 OSGi IoT Demo Winners

The winners of the 2014 IoT  hackathon are Linda Ariani Gunawan, Mathias D’Haeseleer, Bruno De Measschalck, and – awarded for the best application – Tobiasz Dworak. Congratulations!